Ain’t She a Beaut?

Here she is, my little (huge) surprise. I think the thought of shipping food threw everybody off and I stink at hints. So, in light of all that *and* because I could never choose one person to send something to, I’m giving something to everybody that commented (as of now). Of course, I’ve been wracking my brain for something to make for everybody and I’ve run into some speed bumps. The first is that everyone that commented are fabulous bakers in their own right. And the second is that everything I thought of would interfere with food allergies for one of you. So I’m going to embroider a set of kitchen towels for everybody. Those have better longevity anyway and they won’t sit on your hips. I was thinking cherries for Christy, because I know she has a cherry apron. Pears for Tisra, because she has an embroidered pear pillow on her couch. Pictures for my mom-in-law because I’m sure she’d much rather have pictures of the grandkids than kitchen towels. And for Mary, I’m thinking a whisk and tea pot since she painted pictures of those for her kitchen. But I’m open to suggestions. If you maybe got the apron from a favorite aunt but you actually hate cherries, just let me know and we’ll come up with something else. Or if I’m embroidery challenged and can’t actually get a whisk to look like a whisk, I might choose to do 2 tea pots in different colors…you get the idea.

Anyway, I’m so crazy-excited about my mixer. I’ve wanted one for simply forever and I didn’t think I’d get one any time in the near future. So I think that my first endeavor is going to be Marshmallows. Which is actually what I was going to make for all of you but there are just too many variables with that kind of thing and the thought of miserable failure made it less fun. But I know I can embroider. When I thought about making them for all of you I thought that maybe I could substitute maple syrup for the corn syrup for food-allergies sake. I read that someone substituted honey. It’s so thick though and strong flavored and maple syrup is less thick and mild flavored that I thought it might work. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Just give me a few weeks for those towels…

8 thoughts on “Ain’t She a Beaut?

  1. A few weeks? Take as long as you want/need! I didn’t think I was eligible for any such treat so I “won’t look a gift horse in the mouth”… 10 months from now- if it takes that long- is totally fine by me! πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to see what you whip up first!

  2. OHMYGOODNESS! I could not be more excited about cherry towels!! I have been thinking about making some for myself but have never tried embroidery, so…perfect πŸ™‚
    I can’t wait to see how your marshmallows turn out. I have a mixer like that (only it’s red – my whole kitchen was supposed to be a cherry theme at one time) and I make my own marshmallows sometimes. I found a recipe somewhere that had you start with sugar and water to make the syrup, which you then use instead of corn syrup.
    Either way, I bet they’re going to be fabulous!

    • Well, I happen to love cherries too and I would have chosen red but my parents bought it at Sam’s Club so I could only choose between white, black and silver. I’d been drooling over a candy apple red one at Williams Sonoma and an awesome retro aqua one at Macy’s but I, like Tisra, am not looking a gift horse in the mouth πŸ˜€

  3. Oh isn’t she pretty!!!! Love it, and it’s the big one…I think Tisra’s is big too isn’t it Tisra? Even MORE options! I like the silver a lot and you won’t ever have to worry whether it will match in any kitchen you have, or paint color you choose.

    What an offer. I love my embroidered towels with the mugs on them, still admire them when I pull them out and I would love to see what you do with a whisk or teapot. I don’t know what it is about those shapes, but I just feel like certain kitchen items are slightly perfect in appearance. No rush of course. Just hurry. Just kidding.

    Congratulations on this new efficient member of the Button household!!!!

    • Well, I didn’t want to sound braggy so I didn’t go into all the features πŸ™‚ I haven’t been feeling well so I haven’t used it yet but I’m dying to.

      I’m glad you like your mugs and out of what I chose for everybody, I was most worried about what I chose for you. So I’m relieved that you like them…or will like them. I’m going embroidery floss shopping on Friday, which I’m very excited about because it’s fun. And I’ve got an idea in my noggin about the towels but I need to research that a bit. I’m hoping to get my hands on some flour sack towels because they’re supposed to be super-cool but I’ll have to find them.

Leave a Reply

