Ramblings

In the interest of posting something, I’m going to write today. I can’t promise that it will be coherent, but it will be here. I’m really just trying to get through Tuesday. This health thing has stressed me out and though the Lord has given me “peace that passes all understanding” recently, I’ve felt stress beyond all reason since last night. You know, that tightness in your chest thing. Actually my resting heart rate was 108 last night. Travis was a wee-bit concerned, well, more than a wee bit. I’m not overly concerned about the procedure itself. Mostly because I will be completely knocked out. It’s just the days leading up to it and the possibility of “hey we found something”, that I’m not looking forward to. All-in-all this whole thing will have taken a month and I’m looking forward to being past it.

Ten days after that though, Travis and I will be going to a marriage conference. I’m not really a conference go-er. I went to a single’s conference a very long time ago and had a great time but you know, everybody that went was single. And it was at the beach. Fun. I actually got baptized in the ocean while I was there, very cool. I used to do exciting fun things. Anyway, this one is about marriage and there’s work to do and such. I’m sure though that this one, while maybe not as much fun, will be more beneficial. My parents are going to come get the girls and drive over to Gatlinburg to stay in a cabin. They’re so looking forward to it. And Trav and I get to stay in a hotel- we’re so looking forward to it. Then we’re driving over to Gatlinburg for a couple of days. A mini-vacation sounds really nice. Actually a ridiculously long vacation sounds nice, but I’ll take what I can get.

I used my mixer yesterday for the first time. It was nice. The metal mixing paddle sort of made a clanging sound on the bowl though so maybe I didn’t have it all hooked on right. I’m a little jumpy about it because when my mom took hers out of the box, the motor sounded like there were marbles inside. Mine doesn’t sound like it has marbles in it. Anyway, I made homemade brownies. I make most things from scratch because they taste better. Brownies however, taste pretty darn good with a mix. The advantage though, is that I can control what’s in them. I made them with whole wheat flour and they were good. But I don’t think I’ll do that again. Travis loved them but a brownie is supposed to be decadent. They can’t be really decadent if you have bits of wheat stuck in your teeth. Sorry honey, I know you love them.

Homeschool. Whew! I know that I really need less stress on my plate and at the same time I know that I need to do this. I’ve wanted Chloe to be in the Academy since she started school. It seems like the best of both worlds- and I don’t have to do everything. I couldn’t do it all. Since I only have to do language arts and math (funny that I say “only”) I absolutely intend to take a laid-back approach for all our sakes. These last couple of years have been stressful for Chloe and I want her to have a bit of a break. A schedule? We will absolutely have a schedule. I think the only way to keep our sanity is if we have a schedule. Scheduled sleep time, scheduled wake time, scheduled school time, scheduled break time. Hah, that rhymed! But relaxed in the sense that we can sit on the floor on giant pillows (that I don’t own yet but want) or reading time is lying on the couch snuggling. You get the idea. I guess it would be girlie school. I’m sure it sounds idealistic from someone that hasn’t done it before. But I read an article in the paper about home schoolers that are constantly on the run to enrichment and this thing and that thing. They do schooling in the car on their way to other things and that thought stressed me out. I can’t do that. I want to plant things and watch them grow. I want to take nature walks. I want to go places. But not at the expense of my sanity or the girls sanity. I fully intend to guard our time so that when we’re supposed to be learning, we’re learning. But I don’t feel like I need to fill every second of time so that the girls aren’t missing out on anything. The thing they’ll be missing out on is sitting in a classroom 7 hours a day 5 days a week. And honestly, with our balanced calendar schedule, it feels like school never ends. What they won’t miss out on is outside time- a lot of it. And hugs and snuggles. I expect it to be difficult to teach Halle to read. It’s hard for me to teach a kid from the beginning. I expect that they’ll whine and complain at times about this and that- but there will have to be consequences for that. I expect that I won’t like teaching math all that much- but I’ll figure it out. But overall, I’m expecting that we’re going to love it. Now if I could just settle on a curriculum…

I find it absolutely amazing that I can ramble on about so much. I guess it’s in my head and I want to get it out. So there you have it. Now to get past Tuesday…

7 thoughts on “Ramblings

  1. Getting to Tuesday is going to be harder than getting through Tuesday from what it sounds like.

    I am sure that peace you spoke of will make things a lot easier.

    Love the marriage conference plans. I’ve always wanted to do something like that, but having been to many conferences (only one was a marriage conference that I remember) with Images I tend to be very “pro-conference.” Kris…not so much. Maybe someday. I hope you guys have a blast!

    • Well, thankfully I have a husband that’s willing to pray as much as it takes to get through it.

      I could see Kris not being “into” conferences. We choleric types don’t like such things. I’m actually, really looking forward to it though. I’ll let you know how it is. The next one is in Chattanooga in the fall. I think that would be cool. It’s one of the Family Life with Dennis Rainey conferences. http://www.familylife.com/site/c.dnJHKLNnFoG/b.3082787/k.BF6A/Home.htm You know, if you could somehow talk him into it 🙂

  2. Sounds like you have so much coming up *after* Tuesday 🙂
    We’ll be praying for you to make it to Tuesday with more peace – an extra measure of calm.
    As far as homeschooling and idealism go, I think they need each other to be successful. Working out anything new requires dreams – you have to know what you’re aiming for. Pillows on the floor and lots of snuggles while you read sounds pretty achievable in the scheme of things.
    My homeschool idealism (when I was younger) was a little more, uh, unattainable. I imagined such perfect children saying the Pledge of Allegiance, sitting down to their breakfast of homemade bread, a clean house…oh-so-many things that were out of character for me. And I think that’s the thing. Your goals and hopes sound like they are mostly in line with who you are as a family. That makes them so much more realistic!

  3. Any kind of vacation sounds great right about now and Gatlinburg sounds lovely! You guys enjoy yourselves! I’m sure that your new mixer will go well with homeschooling and the girls. All that measuring and tasting that has to be done:)

  4. Hi,

    I’m Mary Kelso’s cousin and found your site through hers. I was given a Kitchenaide about a year ago. It, too, made the clanging noise when I used it. If you read through the booklet that comes with it, there’s a screw that you can turn just slightly to raise or lower the paddle mechanism. That took care of it for me. Enjoy your new mixer!

    Ooh. I’m a nurse. It sort of sounded like you might be having an ablation or something similar for a rapid heart rate. I’ll pray it goes well. From my observance the diagnosis and process leading to the procedure is much more stressful than the procedure or the recovery.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Cheryl. And thanks for the tip on the mixer…I…um…haven’t actually read the directions yet (hangs head in shame) 😉

      I’ve actually read your blog too from time to time (thanks to Mary’s sidebar) but I didn’t realize that you were a nurse. And yes, the stuff leading up to the actual procedure was much more nerve-wracking than the procedure itself.

Leave a Reply

