Things, They are a’Changin’

It’s amazing how much better I feel since last week is over. I slept last night. I haven’t slept much in the last month and a half. And yesterday we had a meeting with the administrator for the Academy. We talked to our Life Group leaders about putting the girls into the Academy and really not being able to afford it so they said we should talk to the administrator.  I expected that it was going to go well and it did. Just not the way I was expecting. Huh? What I thought she would say after talking to us, is that every year she hears from parents who feel called to be at the Academy but can’t afford it, and God always makes a way. But what she said was, “so tell me about yourself”, basically a ‘do you have experience in anything that could be useful?’. And I told her I had a music degree, not education, and that I’m classically trained. And she said they lost their music teacher last year. I won’t go into the whole conversation because Travis wants to keep things under wraps until a decision is made (personally I like to blab everything) but I have 3 different potential options to be able to work and put the girls in the academy. Two options I would do with gratitude that I won’t have to work nights and weekends at Target to pay for the girls school. The third option I would *love* and would probably want to do even if I wasn’t putting the girls in the Academy. Although it makes me nervous for my vision of super-huge pillow learning. Needless to say there is much to pray about and consider.

In case you’re wondering, I haven’t heard from the pathologist. I have no idea how long it will take but I’ve moved on. If it was something horrible they would have said so that day or at least the pathology would be done by now. And though I’d like to know so that particular nuisance is done with, I’m not going to “hold my breath” until I get the phone call or however they let you know. I really feel more relaxed and at ease and I think my body is getting the hint. I don’t feel as tired and achy. I even have energy. I almost feel like I could risk taking a walk without suffering severe repercussions. But I won’t. Because I have way too much coming up this weekend. Our conference starts Friday and Saturday morning the first session is at 8:30. On a Saturday- sheesh! I often think that the Buttons should just bite the bullet and be ok with the whole “morning thing” but if we haven’t done it by now, we never will. We’re just night owls. We will somehow manage to get up, eat breakfast and make it to the first session. Unless there’s a session that doesn’t start at 8:30…hmmm…I wish I had an itinerary. Because I can almost guarantee that whatever session doesn’t start at 8:30 will be the most appealing to us.

Then we’re off to the cabin. And I am so looking forward to the drive. It probably sounds crazy, but the thought of Travis and I in the car together talking without interruption sounds wonderful. And there’s a rest area that is set atop a hill that has a lobby area with rocking chairs and they play mountain music, it’s so cute. No, my dork-ness can’t be hidden. I usually hate mountain music, but not when I’m on vacation. I love all the mountain stuff and souvenir shops that look like cabins. I actually, really like Dollywood. And that was in my “I live 45 minutes from Disney World” days. And after the cabin, we’re staying *two* nights in Asheville! Travis just told me last night that we could do two nights instead of one. So we will do almost an entire week of vacationing. And none of it will include sleeping on an air mattress. That hasn’t happened since we went on our honeymoon. But I think it’s just the beginning.

So what have we done besides plan things? I cooked. Yes, really. And I enjoyed it. I was pan-searing some beef and potatoes to toss into the crock pot for beef stew and I found myself really having a good time. And it felt like I was back. Back from the depths and alive again. I wondered if it would ever happen and it has. I bought strawberries and they were awful. They tasted like water. So I melted some chocolate chips and some white chocolate and the Button family ate all three pounds of strawberries dipped in some form of chocolate. We hardly ever do anything like that and it was so much fun. The girls had a blast and Halle had chocolate from her forehead to her toes. Travis may have made himself sick- just a little. It was fantastic. The girls and I made marshmallows and it was just really fun. It’s super simple and the kids were chomping at the bit to help. I wanted them to help but other than putting the gelatin in the mixer and adding water, there isn’t much else they could help with. Molten sugar isn’t kid-friendly. I got to flex my Kitchen Aid’s muscles and it was really cool.

Did you hear that? It’s the sound of me exhaling. Things aren’t perfect but they’re getting much better.

5 thoughts on “Things, They are a’Changin’

  1. Looking forward to hearing the unfoldment of the school plans. “God will fund what He favors!”

    And, the idea of your body giving you a break and allowing you to sleep, and enjoy, and breathe, and LIVE… is so very very wonderful to hear. I breathe a sigh of relief on your behalf!

  2. You know, that’s how it happens. Small moments of being back. They get more frequent and start to bleed together to be bigger moments and before you know it you turn around and realize that you are fully back and you don’t even know when it happened.
    I’m so excited for your time away – enjoy it.

  3. If it’s any encouragement on the school funding front. I prayed and believe a got an answer about sending Owen to Christian school. It goes against my grain to pay for something I can get for free, but the answer I got made so much sense and we have been through almost an entire school year without an income and haven’t been late on a payment. If God is in it, He will definitely make a way. And I almost cried reading what you were saying about working there in music. Oh my! How beautiful would that be!!!???

    “Things aren’t perfect, but they’re getting much better.” Made me think of the verse Kris used Sunday in our lesson. “Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its PERFECT result, so that you may be PERFECT and complete, lacking in nothing.” James 1:2-4 (emphasis added) So many of us want perfection, but aren’t willing to go through the trials. You are letting endurance have it’s perfect result in you. Pretty awesome!

  4. I’m catching up on your blog posts today to see how things have been going. You’ve had a lot to deal with! I’m so glad you get to have a little vacation. Gatlinburg is always fun, and who can resist Dollywood? Hope you have a great time and come home feeling relaxed and reenergized. 🙂

Leave a Reply

