Feeling Better

No wonder Halle had a melt down. I’m just getting over whatever she gave me and I’m glad. I’m up today and not tired but still feeling it a bit. Travis had a talk with our neighbor last night and he kindly passed on the name of a company that sells some crumbled concrete that they sell very inexpensively by the ton. So we may be able to have them take care of our driveway for us. I don’t think I’m up to shoveling anyway.

Not quite done

Just before the big storm a couple of weeks ago, I dug a big hole in the backyard with the intention of getting the soil all ready to plant stuff. Unfortunately, my soil is sticky clay that most things won’t grow in. But I had to do something with it so I wheeled about 10 wheelbarrows full of clay into the driveway. Which probably kept the whole thing from washing away while we were gone. This is what it looked like before (well, I dug closer to China after this).

And this is what it looked like after we got back. Complete with two totally busted little girls. Believe it or not, I was actually able to get the mud out of Halle’s clothes.

Busted!

I haven’t really been able to work on it since then and I’m afraid I won’t get things planted in time.

But speaking of planting, when we were in B’ham, we went to my aunt and uncle’s new gardening store.  They both worked for Southern Living for a really long time. He wrote articles for the gardening section and maintained SL’s gardens, including the one at Birmingham’s Botanical Garden. I guess it’s been their dream for a while and I’ve been looking forward to seeing it.

I didn't actually ask my aunt to pose...

Lots of picture opportunities

Bottle tree

I’ve never really understood the fascination with bottle trees. Apparently it has it’s roots here though I can imagine that most people just like the way they look. The store was really amazing and I was glad we got to go.

Today though, I will clean. I’ve been working on de-cluttering and organizing the kitchen and I’ve made some really great progress. It’s all in anticipation of my Mother’s Day present which is a new table and chairs set. Travis picked it up a couple of days ago but he has to put it together. Which means that it’s not an heirloom quality set but it’s much nicer than the other one. Which I haven’t sold yet. And I don’t have room for two. Arts and Crafts chocolate…that’s the description. And Amanda got a really cool set of vases for me that I’m looking forward to putting on my new table.

And now I will leave you with pictures of two very cute Button girls…just because.

She can even pull off a cowboy hat...

And so can this one...

3 thoughts on “Feeling Better

  1. I think I’ll have to go to your aunt and uncle’s store if I ever stop in Birmingham again. It looks lovely.

    So glad you are feeling better. Can’t wait to see all the new stuff.

  2. Glad you’re feeling better and I love those muddy girls!
    That garden is just gorgeous. Wish I could visit it. Good luck with your own planting efforts…

Leave a Reply

