Is This Thing On?

Or I should ask, are you still there? I’m not making any bloggy excuses. I just haven’t felt like blogging. I’ve been much too busy enjoying things to actually want to talk about it.  I used to try so hard to make everything seem perfect and now that things are better I just want to enjoy it. To savor it. To breathe it in.

This post will likely be stream of consciousness with pictures.

Alabama was just what the Dr. ordered. We really didn’t do much but shop. I know, that sounds like purgatory to some of you. And it’s just what Travis said he didn’t want to do. But, ironically, we were shopping for Travis on all of the shopping trips.  I bought a couple of things for me because I couldn’t pass up T-shirts and tank tops for about $2 each. Gap was having a serious sale. And the girls actually have back-up swim suits because Gap had them each on sale for about $3.50. Fantastic. And the back-up suit has already come in handy…because…

We spent the 4th with the Fadelys. And Halle had an “accident” in the carpeted portion of the bathroom. You have to love friends that don’t get freaked out by that but hand you some Resolve and a towel and just keep going. Halle had her bathing suit already which got wet and when Travis ran home to get Frank’s Hot Sauce (because he *had* to have it with dinner) he also picked up the extra suit. Fantastic. There were fireworks, a neighborhood fireworks mishap (thankfully nobody was seriously hurt) and we watched the City of Franklin show in a soccer field with the Fadelys and some of their neighbors. The kids ran and played tag until the show started then all of the girls sat on a blanket together and watched the show. Chloe chatted with the neighbor girls like she’d known them all her life. That kid *has* to have friends…

Which is why I have to figure out some way for her to socialize during the school year. I haven’t talked about it yet, but we’re not doing the academy. The school used to be 4 days a week, with some kids on Tuesday, Thursday and others on Wednesday, Friday. Well, cutbacks have forced the school to only do Tuesday, Thursday and there’s no hiring for anything. Of course, they didn’t actually tell me that. I had to get the info. from my Life Group leader that has taught there for the last two years. We had to make a decision before the next set of fees were due *and* before the cancellation cutoff. If the Lord was asking me to have faith for that I would have but He just wasn’t. And I wasn’t ready for that kind of stress. So we’re homeschooling completely. I’m actually pretty excited about it and I’m looking very seriously at this curriculum. There are a couple of things that I wish were different. But I won’t bore you with those. Back to socializing. I’m thinking of putting Chloe in Girl Scouts or something like that. Or maybe a team sport. I’ll figure it out. Now on with the pictures…

We found this little guy in my parent’s driveway. Trav and the girls named him Koopa Troopa. We’d been playing a lot of Mario Kart.

I got to see all my girls sleeping in the same room. That didn’t even happen when Amanda still lived with us. It was sweet.

Halle fit perfectly on the corner piece of the sectional. She is so tiny.

An ice cream cone as big as Halle’s face at Bass Pro Shop.

Amanda and Brian were there too.

I’d like to add that this was taken while we were sitting on the back porch and my Dad asked us a question about a particular scripture. He was doing research for his Sunday School lesson the next morning. It was hilarious to see Amanda, Brian and my Dad all on their ipods looking up scriptures and commentary. It was really a beautiful night. And I actually came up with the winning answer…borrowing Amanda’s ipod, of course.

Woman! What are you doing? You know I hate having my picture taken!

Actually, he didn’t know I was taking his picture. I try to sneak them in.

The girls and I went to the park last night. It was still 90 degrees at 7 o’clock. Sheesh. But we had a good time trying to figure out what kind of bird tracks these are.

And we tried to swing on the Weeping Willow branches. It didn’t work.

Chloe and I skipped rocks. This was Chloe’s first success at it.

Halle tried but ended up just throwing them in.

It is hot as blazes here but thankfully not as hot as the east coast. We’re going to be outside anyway. That’s our summer so far. I’m trying to come up with more things that are fun-and free- to do. Netflix is great but I don’t want our brains to turn to mush. We actually did spend about 4 hours outside yesterday. A sprinkler and hand-me-down Barbie Jeep helps. I think we could do more of that today. I hear that there might be rain and cooler temps tomorrow…I’ve got my fingers crossed.

6 thoughts on “Is This Thing On?

  1. Had a great time with you guys, minus the fireworks. Praising God that you’re living again. He gets all the credit!

  2. That sounds like such a wonderful summer so far! I love all of it 🙂
    Particularly, I love that you have to sneak pictures of Trav. I have to do that with Chris too. He hates being in front of the camera almost as much as he hates being asked to take a picture of me with one!
    I have a couple of projects I’m doing with Emma over the summer that you might want to try. I’ll send you links if you want. They’re free-ish in that they use household ingredients, but they’re not outside things. We’re going to make and paint a fairy house and I’m thinking about doing treasure stones too – where you hide a “treasure” inside a rock and let it harden to be cracked open later. That might make a good treasure hunt if you pair it with a map of the back yard…

Leave a Reply

