Breakthrough and Parenting

I’ve blogged so much in the past about my health struggles and such that I thought some good news is in order. I feel good. Really, fabulously, wonderfully well. About 7 weeks ago I started doing some research about the medicine I was taking for insulin resistance, aka- pre-diabetes. The Dr. seemed to indicate that the medicine was a magic bullet of sorts and the place that I was in stress-wise made it helpful in that, I didn’t have to watch every single thing I put in my mouth. Overall, I would say that my diet would be considered to be healthy. Whole grains, etc, but that wasn’t really helping the situation. I’ll condense this to say that it wasn’t a magic bullet. It helped. The whole point of the medicine is to suppress your liver from kicking out glucose and thereby making your cells more receptive to insulin and reverse the whole insulin resistance thing. I’ve heard from people that it worked for but it didn’t work for me. So I felt like it was time to take drastic measures. I think that the medicine was making me feel awful. I was on the maximum dose of Metformin, 2,000mg a day. My dad is diabetic and he’s only on 500mg a day. Anyway, I cut every bit of sugar and flour from my diet about 6 weeks ago and I feel fabulous. It’s taken every bit of 6 weeks for me to see real results. The feeling fabulous started nearly immediately but just this week I quit being thirsty (crazy thirsty, drinking tons of water a day) and running to the loo a hundred times a day. Now I actually have to force myself to drink anything. It’s not even about losing weight now. I’m sure that will happen. It’s just that I didn’t want to have to tell my girls one more time “I’m sorry but mommy doesn’t feel well right now”. If I never eat bread again that’s fine. I just want my life back.

And parenting. I love my kids so much. And for the most part parenting my little kids has been a breeze. The adolescent years presented some bigger challenges but we got through them. And now that Amanda is navigating adult hood it’s difficult. I told a friend the other day that it’s the toughest parenting I’ve ever done because so much is at stake *and* she lives on her own and is really making her own choices. She’s such a good kid and I’m so proud of her but she’s really been through the wringer in the last 5 months. Nothing is the same for her as it was when she moved out. She has very few of the friends that she did just five months ago. And now her roommate has decided to move out. They were best friends but I’m not sure their friendship will survive this. I see this as a weeding out stage in her life and I know it’s good. I also know she feels an intense amount of pressure to find a roommate, because she really can’t afford it on her own. I have so many things that I’m thinking that I can’t say. I’ve done a pretty good job of holding my tongue because I know if I started talking it would come out badly. It would be one of those things where I’m talking and people would take a step back and start telling me to calm down.

I think that Amanda is taking the right approach. Her landlord is a nice country fella that told them at the beginning that if they broke their lease he wouldn’t really do anything about it because court costs are too high. And yet, my daughter wants to fulfill her commitment. I know that she will if it’s at all possible. I said I was proud but I have a lot of respect for her as well. She is a very strong young woman.

Of course, I’m thinking that she may end up here sooner than we thought. She’d talked about moving back here the beginning of February when her lease was up anyway. I’ve thought about how crammed in here we are and that we’d lose the play room that I just got a treadmill and I don’t have room for an exercise bike and a treadmill and I just rearranged the kitchen….and….and….and. It’s ok. God has a plan and we’ll walk this out just like we do everything else. Believing that it will all work together for our good. That the tough things reveal our flaws so that we can repent of those and be more conformed to the image of Christ. I confronted my own selfishness just this morning. But I don’t want to have to have a shower schedule and wait to get into the bathroom again. Whine. Just when I thought I was perfect. Wink.

We’re bummed for her and she’s very angry. So pray for her if you think about it. I am looking for good things to come out of this.

8 thoughts on “Breakthrough and Parenting

  1. I have been praying for her continually, actually. She’s on my mind a lot. Send me her e-mail. I think I will send her the link to that book I told you about and tell her I love her.

  2. I’m so happy to hear that you’re feeling great. I sure know that sometimes, it’s worth it not to eat the thing that makes you feel bad. Oh sure. People feel sorry for you because you can’t have this or that, but mostly, you are just so happy to feel good that it doesn’t matter šŸ™‚
    I’ll be praying for Amanda. I can’t even begin to imagine what it’s like to parent at that age. I pray that your new-found health will give you the energy you need to really be there for her.

    • Amen, sister šŸ˜€ I don’t feel a bit sorry for myself that I can’t have pie. It’s just not as much fun when I know my body is going to go berserk if I eat it.

  3. Praying! I feel lost in reading this because it has been so long:( So glad to hear you are feeling better and praying for wisdom and direction for all. Miss u guys.

    • Thanks for your call today, that was so sweet. I hope you guys have a great trip and hopefully we’ll be able to see each other again soon.

  4. Amy, So happy for your breakthrough…that is very encouraging…How are you able to give up pancakes, sandwiches, etc…? I would love to hear your strategies…

    • I could do a whole entire post on that šŸ˜€ I really felt the Lord putting that in front of me. I felt like it was time to quit taking the medicine because it wasn’t helping in the way I wanted it to (reversing insulin resistance) and it’s really hard on your liver. Since I’m young, I could see needing a new liver at some point and, well, I like the one I have.

      For the first 4 weeks I did no flour, no sugar, not even fruit or milk. Meat, veggies, eggs, cheese, etc. I felt completely crummy the first day. After that I felt great. It was either divine intervention or since I already ate pretty healthy my body may have already been adjusted. Planning ahead helped the most. I cook quite a bit of chicken at once. Yesterday I had pan seared chicken breast, cooked in mojo, mushrooms sauteed in olive oil and balsamic vinegar with grilled zucchini. So, I’m not really suffering.

      My biggest motto is to not let myself get too hungry. That’s when I crave pizza or ice cream. Travis put a snack size bag of mixed nuts in my purse which we call “the emergency nuts”, haha. But it really does help. My body tells me what it likes and doesn’t like by the way I feel after I eat. I hope that helps. Oh, and I take raw coconut oil, alpha lipoic acid and krill oil because all of those things help regulate sugar and increase insulin sensitivity. They sell the raw coconut oil at Publix although most people don’t like to swallow a table spoon of oil, I do on a nearly daily basis. You can cook with it too but I don’t like how it tastes with eggs or whatever.

Leave a Reply

