I Can’t Believe It’s Thursday

Already? Time flies when you’re working really hard, I guess. And when you have a weekly family dinner. It was different when Amanda lived here. I could ask her to help me clean while I made dinner for family night on Mondays. Now that Brian comes with her and she doesn’t live here, I am usually in a mad sprint to get it all done. So, Monday was a mad sprint to Super Target for food to make and cleaning and dishes and cooking. Whew.

And I didn’t feel well Tuesday. I guess I’ve been pushing myself a bit lately. The diet is still fine, I had to add something though because I was hungry every two minutes. I hit a spot last week where no matter how much I ate I couldn’t get full or stay full for very long. I should add that I don’t like eating that much so it was just frustrating. I was like that for about a week and nearly had a nervous breakdown. Okay, not really but there may have been some crying involved. Yes, I cried because I had to eat. So I did. I had a whole chicken breast completely smothered in sauteed mushrooms and some cherries. And I was full. For about 3 minutes. I think that would drive anybody crazy. So I added cereal. Fiber One cereal to be exact and I’m much better. Travis says it tastes like packing peanuts. I don’t really care. I’d eat packing peanuts if it would keep me from being constantly hungry.

My dear friend Tisra, braved the temps in the mid 90’s to help me sand down kitchen cabinet doors. It was such a huge help and we were able to chat and that made it even better. The doors are all sanded and primed and are waiting for me outside. I’ll have the paint I picked matched at Home Depot tomorrow so I’ll have two coats of that and the doors will have a bit to cure while I work on the cabinets inside. I plan on painting them inside and outside so it’s going to be a big undertaking. It’s going to be really tough to get inside the sink cabinet because it’s all wonky. I think that corner cabinets weren’t around in 1980.

Deer ate all my green tomatoes. Travis got pictures of a cute little fawn in our backyard and I suspect that it’s mom ate them all. Bah. I don’t even want to deal with it anymore. I’ve dealt with blossom drop this year and was excited that I had so many growing. Travis even got to eat one and said it was wonderful. I’d like to just toss the whole thing in the woods and let the deer have at it. Maybe I’ll try again if I ever have a yard with a fence.

And that’s about it. I have to fold clothes today in order to be able to use the baskets to empty out my kitchen cabinets. Well, that and I hate having to search for clothes.

8 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe It’s Thursday

  1. But hunting and gathering clothes is *so much fun*!!! We do it decently often here because, with 4 kids, there is never, ever a moment when laundry isn’t in some unfinished state: dirty, in the wash, in the dryer, un-folded, folded-but-not-put-away. Yuck,

    Again, it was my pleasure to “help”, if you call it that. I felt really unhelpful by chatting your ear off at the end. Oh, and there was the Stopping Every Five Minutes to help Dorothy. And! And the Breaking of the Sander. Yeah, maybe I should have been less “helpful”. 🙂 All that said, I enjoyed just being with you.

    I can’t wait to see the finished cabinets. My unsolicited advice? Don’t paint the inside of the cabinets. Really. It will be okay, and will save you a lot of time, cost, and headache. Should you forge ahead and do it, I’m more than happy to help again in any way I can.

    • Well, it had been a while since we’d really talked so it was nice to catch up. And it was tons of help since I didn’t have to do it all myself. We knocked it out rather quickly. Plus you saved me from breaking the sander myself 😀 Really, I’m just glad you didn’t get hit in the eye with the flying shrapnel that came out of it.

  2. Re: The deer vs. tomatoes…Could you use that “caging” (I don’t know what it’s called) around your tomato plants?

    It’s great that you have a friend like Tisrah! So happy you are getting the things accomplished that you wanted done… 🙂

    • I have a cage, I’d have to get a fence. But Travis said he likes deer so much that they can have the tomatoes 😦

  3. I’m glad to hear how you’re progressing with your diet changes. It’s amazing how much more in tune you can be with your body and its needs when you’re so mindful of what you’re eating!
    I do NOT envy your cabinet painting. Painting doors is one thing, but I absolutely hate painting inside cabinets. I feel all cute, crawling inside them with a kerchief and a paintbrush, but that lasts for about 12 seconds.
    Sorry ’bout your tomatoes. I’m giving mine one or two more tries (this fall & next spring) and if I don’t get results, I’m done too. Meh.

Leave a Reply

