As Promised

I promised pictures and pictures you shall have.

Here’s a little sand crab. As I was walking along the beach I kept thinking that I saw a bit of trash blowing around. But it was just this little guy. They’re really fast.

The morning after we got there, the sea and sky looked like this….

The next day looked like this….

And this. It seemed very symbolic to me.

It was chilly and windy and rainy. I didn’t really want to go to the beach because, well, it was chilly and windy and rainy. Travis didn’t really agree with me on that one. So we went to the beach.

And one little munchkin was very cold. A tiny little munchkin she is.

The kids? Yes, the kids were there Sunday afternoon through the rest of the trip. Why? Well, because we couldn’t really bear the thought of visiting the beach without the kids. I mean, kids are the reason that the beach is so fun. Mostly because then you get to act like a kid. I don’t think we’d do it again because we really need time alone. But since Travis was sick for the whole trip it gave me somebody to talk to.

Our last day there was still cold and rainy so we decided to head over to Seaside. I wore jeans. And by the time we got there it was sunny and in the 80’s and I was hot. See?

We went to Sandestin too but I wasn’t really excited about shopping so we headed back to the condo in the hopes of getting to be on the beach for a while.

We made it in time to see the sunset.

Sunset from our balcony

We stayed until dark and it would have been nice to stay longer but we had to start getting ready to leave. When we woke up the next morning the beach looked like this:

The water was clear and perfect and smooth as glass. The seaweed that was there the day before had settled back down and we saw a lone dolphin swimming. It made us want to stay longer but we couldn’t. Another bit of symbolism, I think.

And that was our trip. I don’t know if I’ve ever been on a trip quite like it or if I could adequately describe everything that God showed me while we were there. It was exactly what we needed even if it wasn’t perfect.

Here’s to our new beginning…

 

4 thoughts on “As Promised

  1. Oh so beautiful. Even the stormy skies are pretty to look at. Not so fun to live under though. I’m so glad you got this opportunity and I hope you can do it again…sooner this time.

    • I loved it too. I just didn’t love actually being in the seaweed infested waters being knocked around by really big waves and then frozen by the wind. If I’d just sat on the balcony and looked at it I’d have been fine. But I was trying to be considerate to my hubby who told me beforehand how many hours he wanted to spend on the beach. Yes, hours. Many of them. So I took one for the team πŸ˜€ It wasn’t for hours though. Mostly because Halle’s lips turned purple. I probably should have written about that.

Leave a Reply

