Okay

So. How are you? It’s been a while. And I just really can’t do anything about that. See, I’ve been sick. I’m better now (mostly) but Travis was actually home 3 days last week because I needed him to be. Monday he took off work, Thursday he worked from home and Friday he already had off because it was my birthday. He really is the best. It’s not easy to take care of 2 kids and a sick wife and a puppy while working.

And I have to say that the whole puppy thing is more difficult than having a toddler in the house. Puppies have teeth. Sharp ones. And she likes to use them to tear things…mostly my furniture. So far she’s ripped the couch and both chairs that are in the living room, the curtains in the playroom and a shower curtain. Sigh. Oh, and she bites the kids. Big sigh. So I’m getting up at 6 am to take her to the park in the hopes that she’ll be better behaved. She’s also getting a walk in the afternoon but since she’s a puppy she gets really excited and wants to play and that’s when she bites or tears up a chair. So I have to crate her when that happens. I used to think it was horrible to crate a dog but I’ve determined that tearing up furniture and biting the kids (or me or Travis) is off limits.

I don’t want this to be a “Debbie downer” post. I do feel stretched thin though and making time for everything is tough.

Next week will be a one school day week and so I’ll have time to clean and decide what in the heck I’m making for Thanksgiving. The whole gluten thing makes things a bit challenging. And while I usually love a challenge, I’m having trouble getting my thoughts together. I think it’s because I haven’t been spending lots of time riding my exercise bike while reading a magazine. But I have a few days to cram in some Food Network to get some ideas. A big problem though is that I’ve decided that I hate casseroles. I don’t really know why casseroles are so popular for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Is it because it seems a little fancier than say, plain green beans? Would it be sacrilege for me to have sweet potato fries on Thanksgiving? That’s the only way I like them. I really hate sweet potato casserole. And I’m not loving green bean casserole either. Although green beans almondine sounds good. Maybe with mushrooms too, mmmm. It is required that I make broccoli casserole though. Chloe and Amanda would go on strike if I didn’t. I guess I’m rambling on but I’m open to suggestions. I may be feeling a wee bit stressed.

I have found though that gluten free cake is yummy. I made a New England Pumpkin Cake from a recipe in one of Chloe’s school books. It called for a cake mix and I just used a gluten free one and it was delish. It was especially good with coffee. I always make homemade cinnamon rolls for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Rather than go through the trouble of making two different kinds (regular and gluten free), I think I’ll make the pumpkin cake for breakfast for my mom, myself and now Chloe. Yeah, Chloe. I won’t say that I’ve definitely nailed it down for her but I have noticed that for quite a while she’s been complaining of not feeling well. She doesn’t really have anything else going on but general malaise. But she really complains after having a sandwich or muffin or some other bread item. I’m going to just try it out for a while and see if she improves. She and I did have a crazy conversation about opening a gluten free bakery. It’s not something I’m remotely interested in but it was fun to dream with her. I love that kid.

I guess I had more to say than I thought.

 

6 thoughts on “Okay

  1. Regarding sweet potato fries for Thanksgiving. I love the idea. I think when given the opportunity you should have your own traditions and do what’s comfortable and enjoyable…what fits…your family. I still love our Thanksgiving brunch our little family had two years ago. One of my favorite holidays ever!

    I hope you are back to tip top shape soon. I do hate that you’ve been sick and I hope little Miss Daisy cooperates quickly. She just has to.

  2. Sweet potato fries = awesomeness. I bet having some cake was really great 🙂 Girl, hang in there. I hope the school-free time next week gives you a chance to catch up and feed your heart a bit too.

  3. Feeling-ish? 🙂

    Have you bought a lot of chew toys? OUr breeder recommended that for Sandy- just keep shoving them in her mouth when she has the urge to chew. Which is All. The. Time. No ripped furniture, though.

    And, I love Chloe. I can totally imagine her as a happy bakery owner.

    My kids are out all next week. A dog/ park/ kids outing, I propose!

Leave a Reply

