Quickly

I thought I’d just jot a few things down here while I’m thinking about it. I’m so happy to have Amanda here now. She worked all day yesterday, despite being sick, and spent the night here. I woke up around 5:30 this morning and walked into the hallway to see her standing at the fridge, crying and cleaning the handles. Our conversation went something like this.

Me: What are you doing?

Amanda: My fever is 102, I feel awful and I can’t sleep (crying).

Me: Then why are you cleaning?!?

Amanda: Because I’m sick!

I think that she meant she was wiping down the handles because she’s sick and she touched them. I don’t think she knew exactly what she was doing. So I gave her some Ibuprofin and melatonin and she was out. I hate it that she’s sick but I’m glad she still needs her mommy sometimes.

Travis and I finished our shopping yesterday thanks to a dear friend who agreed to watch our kiddos at the last minute. I was so thankful that Travis decided to ask for the 23rd off. He doesn’t usually and I never think of it until the 23rd and I really need his help. So it was great to be able to shop with him. I don’t feel like I knocked it out of the park here though. Since I was sick for such a long time (pretty much all of November until the middle of December) I just couldn’t get it all together. My brain still feels scattered and I usually have a really good grip on what needs to be done. I was thinking last night about what I’ve enjoyed this season. The music definitely, the worship at my parents church and time with my family. I haven’t enjoyed buying presents and I usually really do. I thought about trying to make things perfect and then I realized that Christmas isn’t really about perfection. Not my perfection anyway.

And I’m okay with that.

One thought on “Quickly

  1. Yeah. I always aim for perfection and I’m always disappointed. There is always a point in the season when I just throw my hands up in the air, give it all up and just enjoy myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

