Today

Today is beautiful. It’s currently 56 degrees and sunny and I have all the windows open in the hopes of getting much needed fresh air inside. It gets terribly stuffy inside in the winter. I remember talking to a college friend from New Hampshire one day, many years ago, and he was wishing it was 50 degrees. I quickly told him that he was crazy, 50 degrees was far too cold for this Florida girl. Fast forward 15 years and I’m so happy for the 50’s. It’s supposed to be 60 tomorrow. That’s practically spring time weather!

Actually I’m thinking of making spring my new favorite season. At least until next September. I’m currently reading the mags from my current subscriptions and things are lavender and yellow and turquoise…I’m heading out to find paint chips today. For what? The kitchen and the current playroom. The current playroom that may well be Amanda’s room again. It’s not definite but her second roommate won’t be re-signing the lease and Amanda isn’t too keen on the whole roommate situation so she may be living with us for a while. It was so nice to be able to spread out a little bit here and it seems that we have more stuff so it’s going to be a bit of a squish to get everybody back in place. But it will be nice to see Amanda (and Brian too) more often.

Chloe was having a tough time finding a shirt a few days ago. That in itself isn’t news. But I happened to find a favorite shirt from my college days that had somehow survived multiple closet purging and it happened to fit her. Sigh.

My shirt is the long sleeved gray one. I love that color…in clothes or a car (my old sentra was that color) everything apparently except for wall color. Anyway, Chloe is so cute I just want to squeeze her.

I had to get a picture of Halle too…

She’s six and hates to brush her hair…those eyes though. Sometimes they’re blue, sometimes green. So sweet.

I also have decided that I’m really not okay with the way Christmas turned out. I think that’s my New Year’s Resolution to decide whether or not I’m okay with something instead of lying to myself and trying to be okay with things. Case in point. Amanda decided to fly out to Charlotte on Christmas day to see Brian and his family. She picked Christmas day because she could save about $100 dollars on the flight. I understand that. And I tried to be okay with it. I always (well, at least mostly) try to be easy going and go with the flow, etc. but what happens is (like Christmas) I end up finally realizing that I’m not okay with it and I’m actually very frustrated that the entire day, dinner, etc. has to revolve around when we had to leave to take Amanda to the airport. There, I said it. Ultimately, her flight ended up being canceled and I could relax a little. But that really isn’t the point. And to clarify, I am okay sharing her for the holidays and I’m glad she got to go to Charlotte. I’m just going to do my best to not lie to myself and try to be super-awesome-wife-mom-whose-feathers-don’t-get-ruffled. I will do my best to really think something through before I agree to it. What’s that sound? Oh, that’s Travis breathing a sigh of relief because he’d much rather know up front what I’m feeling than to get blind sided by it at the last minute and then have to deal with a sobbing wife. It happens. Occasionally.

3 thoughts on “Today

  1. Oh man…you sound like ME!!!! I need to do that whole thinking through thing too. I let my opinion and wants get run over pretty often, not because people are mean, but because I DIDN’T SPEAK UP! Argh! Christmas could have rated higher here too, no one’s fault but mine.

  2. Whew. Well, you can relax now. It is a serious advantage to be honost with one’s self and to know your limits. Next year will be different, I’m sure!

  3. I like gray a lot too. Every time I buy a new shirt, it’s either black or gray.
    I always have a hard time with how I “feel” about the holidays too. I still haven’t figured out how to really, truly enjoy the season. Your new policy sounds like a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

