It’s Melting, Melting!

That’s a little Wizard of Oz humor. Although if I have to explain it then it’s probably not that funny. But yes, the snow is melting…even though it’s 24 degrees outside. A little sunshine makes all the difference.

And some housekeeping. A new someone commented on one of my posts and I approved it and replied to it but it’s not showing up with the comments. So, if you commented and don’t see it, I promise I’ve tried about 10 different ways to get it to show up and it won’t. I can’t figure out why. I’m sorry.

My brain is a wee bit tired today. I don’t feel like writing all that much but the best way to get through writer’s block is to just write. Home-school today helped too. I didn’t feel like doing school but when my 6 year old shows up in the kitchen with gloves and huge sunglasses and says in a movie star like voice “Hello everybody, did I miss anything?”, it just brightens my day. Mostly because it’s completely ridiculous.

In other news, Amanda has decided to not move back in. I have to say that I’m relieved but only because it would have been such a squish to get her in here. It would have been great to see her more often but I’m really proud of the way she’s been determined to stay in her apartment. The roommate thing has been difficult but she loves where she’s at and she loves the life she’s made and she’ll figure it out.

Soooo, paint samples will be gathered tomorrow. The playroom will be Chloe’s room and she wants to paint it um, purple. It’s not my favorite shade. But it’s also not my room so I guess it will be okay. I’m still hoping to talk her into yellow since I already have yellow paint. I realize that the decision is mine, it’s just that this is a big deal for her. She’s never had her own room and to move into Amanda’s old room makes her feel like she’s much more grown up.

And my humorous Daisy anecdote for the day:

She got off her tether. I don’t know how since her collar isn’t broken and the latch on the tether isn’t either. I just looked outside and saw her standing at the end of the driveway. I was still wearing my pajamas, capri sweat pants and so I slid on some loafers (I can’t believe I’m telling you this) and Trav’s Florida Gator jacket. Please pause to get the full picture. Capri sweat pants and loafers. Sigh. In my defense, I didn’t have time for any other shoes. In the ice and snow though, those are the worst shoes possible. It quickly became a game and she ran to several neighbors yards and across the street. Then one of my neighbors drove by and said hi. And I was wearing…you know. Awesome. Chloe and Halle were sobbing. Chloe was outside and Halle was inside but had opened the window so we could hear her wailing. So Chloe and I said a prayer that went something like this:

Dear God, I pray that you would please help us to get Daisy back quickly…so I can put her in her crate for the rest of her life. Amen

I won’t tell you which one of us was praying. So we decided we were going to have to ignore her. She realized it and ran by us, hoping to get the game started again. When out of the blue, who should come to our rescue but Bo. I called to him and since he doesn’t get a lot of attention, he came running over to be petted. Which we did. And since Daisy can’t get enough of Bo, I was able to grab her. I told Chloe to give Bo a treat but in typical good guy fashion, he ran off before he could claim his reward.

Oh, and I didn’t actually put Daisy in her crate for the rest of her life.

She is getting a bath though…she hates baths. I win.

4 thoughts on “It’s Melting, Melting!

  1. That’s awesome. Daisy has been good for a lot of laughs hasn’t she? A few tears too, but what better way to prove you’re family?

    I was hoping Amanda would find a way to stay put. Not because of anything other than, I remember how good it felt to live by myself. It was difficult, but I did it and I am so glad I did. Even now…I know I could do it again if I had to. Oh…and nobody borrowed my clothes without asking…which was a real plus as well. Go Amanda!

  2. I love the Daisy stories because God is laughing…at you! šŸ™‚
    Pets are one of the most wonderful experiences in this life…They teach us a lot, don’t they?

  3. You’ve heard it a lot lately, but I’ll just heap it on to the pile of other comments: keep you at it…. you’re a really good writer! You have a established a voice and it all flows so well. I’m not surprised by this, but you might be, so I am telling you to KEEP IT UP and God will make it clear to you why you should be speaking. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

