Sometimes…

Sometimes it’s just easier to post a cooking something-or-other, rather than trying to make my life sound interesting every day. I really have a new-found respect for those bloggers that write every-single-day or even twice a day. Whew!

So I made mayonnaise today. Why mayo? Well, I may have mentioned that I’m doing Atkins right now and they have a recipe for mayo. Why Atkins? Well, I already can’t eat gluten and I also can’t eat sugar so I figured “why not?” Besides, I can have real cream in my coffee with Atkins but not with South Beach, so there you go.

Start with 1 egg, 2 tsp. lemon juice (fresh is best but you can use the bottled kind), 1 tsp. Dijon mustard (I didn’t have any so I used spicy brown mustard), 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/8 tsp pepper 1/2 cup olive or canola oil.

Put everything in a food processor and give it a whirl…

I doubled the recipe so that it would fit in the food processor. The recipe calls for it to be made in a blender *but* it’s really hard to get it out of a blender. Mayo is thick and there are blades at the bottom so it’s just difficult. The blades in a food processor can be taken out then you can use a rubber spatula to get it out.

And your goofy dog may bark at you for a bite of what you’re making. She doesn’t know it’s mayonnaise, nor does she care.

Then, while you’re whirling (well, you shouldn’t actually whirl but your food processor should) drizzle in the olive oil…

It will all thicken up and you will have a nice, heart-healthy mayo…

For what you ask? Well, let’s say you’re throwing a casual sandwich party but you want to dress it up a bit. Grab a loaf of artisan bread from Panera and make a bit of mayo to garner “oohs and ahhhs” from your very impressed guests. Maybe add some dill or chili powder for a variety and you’ve gone from plain old sandwiches to something that might make guests feel just a little more special. And it only takes about 5 minutes.

Or you could do a low-carb salmon salad over a bed of spinach. That was my lunch today. And there you have it, a gluten-free, sugar-free, low-carb condiment that tastes pretty yummy. Ciao!

7 thoughts on “Sometimes…

    • Yes. A little known fact about me is that I don’t hate salmon, Travis does. But I never make it because he hates it so much. I also don’t hate onions. But since I don’t have to have either of those things, I usually don’t buy them. This is canned salmon though and I needed it for convenience. It is surprisingly not-fishy. I grew up eating salmon patties, and mackerel patties and tuna. Or sometimes fresh mackerel if my dad caught some.

  1. I have often wondered if I could make my own mayonnaise but never actually researched it to find out. This is GREAT. I have been buying the olive oil variety when I buy it, but I look at it and think…surely it’s not that much better for me. I should probably figure out a better way to dress up my sandwiches. I will have to try this.

Leave a Reply

