Feeling Springy

I mentioned yesterday that we’d visited the church that Amanda and Brian now attend but didn’t add anything to that. They’ve been attending there for a few months now and Amanda left NewSong around April but we hadn’t checked out the new place yet. I trust her judgement and she knows what she believes so it wasn’t that I didn’t trust it, in fact I love the mission of the church. I just hadn’t been there…and she’s my kid. Always and forever, no matter how old she is, she’s my kid. And besides, Eric and Tisra attend there as well and they had our other kids, which meant that *all* of our kids were there so we were too. And I can’t adequately describe the feeling I had sitting next to my daughter in church. My daughter who apparently drinks her coffee black! If it’s with a doughnut. It wouldn’t be such a big deal to an outsider but I thought I knew everything there was to know about her…but black coffee! She’s just so picky about food in general and I was just really surprised.

It’s probably been about 10 years since I’ve sat in church with Amanda. For you parents that don’t know yet, you’re kids stop sitting with you in church around their tween years. It probably hasn’t been 10 years but it’s been a long time. I was a bit teary-eyed through most of the service.

On our way out, we talked to some acquaintances and one was coming from outside with a bunch of tulips. The girls immediately said, “Look Mommy, those flowers are beautiful!” I agreed and the woman carrying them said “Here you go.” And handed them to me. I know she had no idea that I love tulips but I do and it’s so nice to have flowers in the house.

I will not take this opportunity to complain about my camera. It’s meant to shoot photos of people, not to make flowers look pretty. And I’m glad that my hubby bought it for me. Anyway, I don’t know if these were purchased with the pretty fabric around the bottom but I just love it. The girl that gave them to me is the type to wrap the fabric to make it really pretty. I admire people like that.

Travis also bought flowers for me this past weekend. And unfortunately the picture is just terrible. They’re colorful and I love them though. Especially since the weather is so icky gray outside.

Those two things make my house so pretty. And this little thing does too…

I think that if I had the disposable income, I’d decorate for every holiday. But a little bit of sweetness goes a long way, I think. Initially the cupcakes made me want to eat a cupcake but I’ve resisted.

It’s the little things that make me smile.

9 thoughts on “Feeling Springy

  1. Your blog makes me smile…so many memories…and yes, your kids will always be your kids even when they are 40 and beyond…I just wish kids would get to know their grandparents…I lost mine when I was quite young–12, 17 and 18 and I have never gotten over the fact that they never got to see my children…Now I feel like crying…P.S. The flowers are beautiful and they do make me smile…

  2. I’m glad it makes you smile. I lost my first grandparent at 16 so she didn’t even get to meet Amanda. I’m comforted by the fact that I’ll see her again someday.

    Don’t cry! šŸ˜¦

  3. I’m not…it was just a momentary sadness…Time goes so fast…So much is wasted too, I think, in not doing what you really want to and/or are called to do…

  4. I didn’t know you love tulips too. I wouldn’t say they are my favorites, but they are very close. Such a perfect flower. Aren’t they a favorite for Tisra too? Maybe we need to have us a little tulip festival…better yet, we need to visit the tulip festival…I’ve never been, but I’d like to.

    So many good things. Time with family and time with family in church…so good. Your telling of the visit just makes me mindful of what a true family we are as Christians. We just live in different houses, with different leadership and different songs. Of course there’s more to it, but when a sister in the Lord hands you a bunch of tulips when you’re visiting her church…it has to feel a little more like visiting relatives doesn’t it?

    Happy Groundhog day!!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

