Rainy Day

It’s raining and I think we’re supposed to build an ark or something for a storm that’s coming tonight. Ah, spring in Tennessee. I hate the storm and tornado aspect but I’m so happy to start seeing buds on the trees. I first spotted some on a tree in the neighborhood this past Saturday. I excitedly called to Travis and we saw 4 or 5 trees with buds! I was positively twitterpated!

This morning though I’ve been a little, um, how do you say it? Cranky pants probably says it best. Not with anybody, except maybe my neighbor who is currently playing some base-heavy music. It’s just that we’ve had an extra kiddo around here and while she really was a perfect angel (really), I have a tendency to get stressed when anything changes. And as a result, I don’t sleep well. It isn’t that I didn’t sleep, I did. I just don’t feel like I did.

So I made some oatmeal (I found gluten free oats at Whole Foods) with blueberries and vanilla and cinnamon. But see, I really wanted chocolate. A little bit of chocolate isn’t bad, right? As I was debating, I heard a knock at the door. When I opened the door, who should I see but a cowboy smiling back at me. I asked him if I could help him and he said, “Ma’am, I just stopped by to tell you that you’ll be much less of a cranky pants if you put chocolate chips in your oatmeal. And while blueberries and chocolate chips might seem like an odd combination, you know that it’s actually quite tasty. ” And he walked away, jumped onto his white horse and rode off.

Or maybe I dreamed that last night. Either way my oatmeal was quite tasty.

4 thoughts on “Rainy Day

  1. Hilarious!!!!

    Glad you had some confirmation on that chocolate idea. It probably needed to happen.

    I’m making chicken stock…it’s just getting started…but very soon the smell is going to carry away my cranky pants mood. That said, if you happen to see that cowboy again, I wouldn’t mind having a little chocolate today too.

Leave a Reply

