Hello

The home improvement stuff is underway and is tiring and slightly frustrating. The frustration is that while I have to make things pretty, clearing out a room to paint it makes a much bigger mess and we have to step around things; or on things as the case may be.

But and this is a really big BUT…I’m leaving tomorrow. I’m going to my parents house. The place where my mom cooks and my dad teases the girls. I want to go to the botanical gardens, which are totally fantastic and completely free! It will also serve as a field trip for the girls so it will still count as school. I’m not sure what else we’ll do and I hardly care because for a few days I will not have to think about home improvement.

And now I’ll give you a peek inside Halle’s room re-do.

I think this is the last bit of termite damage that I needed to repair…I really hope it is because I’m very much over doing dry wall work.

And here’s a close up. It did give me the opportunity to let the girls have a really close look at termite tunnels and such.

A bucket of dry wall mud or joint compound is about $12 and is a life saver for wall repair of this size. The other option is to completely replace the dry wall but that would require a lot more work. If it was eaten completely through we would have but termites just eat between the paper. And they also don’t eat 2 x4’s if you’re wondering. They eat trim and tunnel through dry wall but they don’t eat the 2×4’s that frame the house. According to our termite guy (funny that we have one of those) they don’t like pressure treated wood. Anyway, I’m not an expert and termites are bad but not as bad as I initially thought. It’s funny that things that used to just terrify me don’t phase me anymore. Although, I never, ever, ever want to deal with this kind of thing again.

That was a long dissertation on termite damage repair…sorry. But once you do this…

And let it dry, you can sand it down, wipe it down, prime it and then you can paint. Did I mention that I never want to do this again?

I found the sweetest pink in the Oops bin at Home Depot.

But it’s not actually that light, sweet pink. I know that paint dries darker but this just seemed really, really dark. It turned out to be a really pretty pink (one that Halle wants to have in her next room) but I wouldn’t have painted it that color if I’d known. I figure that one pink room wouldn’t keep our house from selling but I guess you never know.

This is the picture that the color shows the most accurate…plus there’s a sweet little girl and puppy under the bed.

That’s one of Daisy’s favorite spots. I think that at some point we’ll try letting her sleep without a crate. I’ve always thought it was sweet to have the dog sleeping in the kids room. I don’t think it would work with Chloe because she’s such a light sleeper but Halle? Not so much. She can sleep through anything. We’ll see.

I have discovered through this whole process that I’m just really done (mentally) with things for this house. We’ve lived here for 4 1/2 years and that’s not really a very long time. My parents lived in the same house for over 20 years and I wonder how that works for a house you live in for a really long time? If it’s a house you love, do you still want to paint it and such? Or is that why people move so often? When we lived in an apartment, I hated that about 4 months before our lease was up we had to talk about whether or not to renew. So that meant once we were settled in we had 4 or 5 months to enjoy it before we had to figure it out again.  Houses are better in that regard but we’re in a “starter house”, our friends lived in a “5 year” house, etc. My parents designed and had their house built (the one in Florida) and I remember looking at the house plans and thinking of how wonderful it would be. I also remember getting up early and having breakfast in the house before it was built. My mom bought Sugar Smacks, which she never, ever, ever did again, I’m sure. I’d never had them before and this was a big occasion. We were sitting on the concrete floors with styrofoam bowls and plastic spoons eating Sugar Smacks. I grew up in that house (which some of you remember) and there was such a sense of comfort and stability in being at home. In our house. It was always our house. I really want that again. I want that for my kids.

I also remember my parents talking all the time about selling and we visited open houses (you see where I get it?) and I don’t want that. I want to plant cherry trees and peach trees and blueberry bushes and not think about moving. Ever. Are we there? I don’t know. I’m putting one foot in front of the other. My hopes and dreams aren’t completely tied up in the place I lay my head at night. I was content before we set a foot out on this journey and no matter how it turns out, I’ll be content again. That is one thing that I am very sure of.

2 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Amy, would you believe that I still have dreams about that house. It’s always a little different in my dreams, but apparently leaving it had much more of an impact on me than I’d thought.

    I know it did your mother. I’ve never seen her so distraught as she was on the way to Alabama. We were leaving Jon, Ashton, and Dalton, and you and Amanda were already gone, so she, we, had so many memories of all of you and most of them were somehow related to that house.

    But I think there’s a lesson in that. We left under a divine mandate, even though your mother and I both knew that I was in no condition emotionally or spiritually to undertake any kind of ministry. When I finally relented and agreed to go my confession was that we would go if He wanted us to , but “Lord you’ll have to do something in me because I’m still really messed up.”

    We’re just now beginning to see the fruit of what God wanted to do through us for so many years. The lesson, I think, is that God is not as concerned with our comfort as He is with our conformity to the likeness of His Son, and sometimes comfort contravenes conformity.

    I sincerely hope that you will find your “terminal” home (my appellation), and live there many years and be hostess to kids, grand kids, and great grandkids. Never forget, however, that comfort can breed complacency and complacency can lead to catastrophe. But I think I know you well enough to know that you won’t let that happen. You are “a (woman) after Gods heart who will do everything He tells you to do.” I will always love you because you’re my daughter, but I admire you because you’re a woman of God.

    Can’t wait to see you and the girls. Love Dad

  2. Once again I had to look up a word (actually two) in your dad’s comment so that I knew what he was saying. I’m just going to call him Vocabulary Dad. I hope that doesn’t contravene with his true identity.

    I really like what he said and all of it together is very thought provoking for me.

    I am like you in that I want that “stable home for many years” feeling like I had as a kid. I also struggle with putting the effort into where I am if it’s not my “terminal” home (Vocabulary Dad’s appellation).

    I remind myself often that my satisfaction and fulfillment on earth should not be my priority and that a what I find in eternity will far outweigh any comfort I find here. I think it’s hard when I see other people living out a productive destiny for the kingdom in what I would consider a perfect environment. You know the testimony…”God just handed us this farm on 72 acres.” Why not me? Not that I have anything to complain about…I hope I don’t sound ungrateful…good grief…I have a beautiful home and I love my house. The issue is more in that I don’t consider it permanent and I wonder if I should.

Leave a Reply

