Not Blue

Okay, glad that’s over. Nothing here has really changed, it’s just that little things that pile up, while overwhelming at first, usually blow over fairly quickly. Travis is still working, although thankfully not this past weekend (well, not at work anyway), Amanda is still working through things, my car is still broken and I’m feeling a bit cabin-feverish but this too shall pass.

We have located several parts for my car but Travis needs to take tomorrow off to call and make sure it’s the part we need. It’s difficult to get these types of things done when mechanics work the same hours that Travis does. And, no, I don’t talk to mechanics. Why? Because I don’t know the right questions to ask (not to mention that almost every mechanic I’ve ever talked to has treated me like I don’t have a brain) which means that Travis would have to do it anyway. I hope to have a car by the end of the week. And then I’m going out. For a really long time. It will take a lot of self control to not just take a trip. I used to do that in college. I miss those spontaneous days.

And while Travis didn’t have to work at work yesterday, he did have to work at home. Because I broke the sink. Yeah, I’m good like that. How does one break a sink? Well, in my defense, I was doing something cool.

See?

Oh, wait, that’s the formerly buzzing but lately not working, ugly light above the sink.

That’s the cool thing I did…that resulted in a broken sink. I may or may not have steadied myself by taking a step onto the sink area. Also In my defense, it’s hard to work for long periods of time with my arms above my head, trying to install a light fixture that really didn’t want to be installed. I’m really not very tall. So there. Ahem. And I’m glad Travis wasn’t mad at me.

It looks fantastic and I love it. It gives the kitchen ambiance and I’m all about some ambiance. Although, a hacksaw needs to get involved for some screws that are too long so it will sit flush against the ceiling. Let’s just say that there was no light box for the former light fixture and I’m improvising. So don’t count this as a tutorial or anything. Just enjoy the light and don’t do what I do, k?

5 thoughts on “Not Blue

  1. Love it! I’m all about ambiance too and I have dared step into things I shouldn’t a time or two to achieve it. I’m usually breaking things with my elbows or breaking myself with my astounding measure of gracefulness. So…was the sink fixed or replaced? I’m curious.

    • It’s fixed. The drain area was cracked. Travis cracked the other side once by trying to loosen a bag of ice. It’s a fairly easy repair. If the sink had to be replaced, well, we’d probably have new counter tops too ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll try harder next time.

      • Ha! Definitely try harder next time. I was thinking about Amber’s plumbing problem that led to a brand new kitchen, complete with new appliances just the other day. Why not? It needs to be something that doesn’t ruin the floors though. You just let me know how you want me to pray. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love the new light! And I totally support your need to take off somewhere for a while. I try to do that on a regular basis ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

