A Happy 4th

The 4th of July is my favorite holiday, although it usually sneaks up on me. This year my car is still (!) in the shop though so I had a lot of time to think about it. I only had a couple of goals 1. was to see fireworks, the real deal, a professional explosion fest and 2. was to make a 4th of July themed dessert. I realize that those aren’t really lofty goals but that’s what I love so much about the 4th. I get to see fireworks (I realize that things blowing up is sort of a guy thing but I love them anyway) and it’s low-key. I don’t have to kill myself making tons of food or worry about making the most special family memories ever. Plus barbecue is usually involved and I.love.barbecue. I don’t think I could get away with barbecue at Thanksgiving or Christmas.

And my favorite holiday started on the 2nd! Our life group leaders/friends, live in Bon Aqua, TN. If you’ve never heard of it there’s a good reason for that. There’s nothing there other than houses and maybe farms, oh, and a music venue? I guess it’s the proximity to Nashville that gives the possibility of having a music venue in the middle-of-nowhere, but this one is just a couple of doors down from Ray and Lori’s house. I don’t think I’ve ever been that close to fireworks before and it was probably the best show I’ve ever seen. Ever. Oh, and the whole thing started with a sky lantern like the ones in Tangled. It was seriously cool. And then the fireworks show that seemed to go on forever. Even after we heard the emcee say something about “what a great show!”, or something like that, they still blew stuff up. I loved it.

The nice thing about seeing a fireworks show on the 2nd is that if it totally stunk, I would still have an opportunity to see another one on the 4th. I didn’t need to. Although I would have liked to. I did think about two years ago, being on the beach with Trav’s family and watching fireworks. It may not have been the best show but it was still fantastic being on the beach. I’d like to do that again sometime.

Okay, so my fantastic(ish) 4th of July dessert? Chocolate gluten-free cupcakes, filled with vanilla custard and topped with homemade buttercream frosting. Yummy and sweet and chocolatey they were. And I had two. And I may have to do a million miles on my bike to make up for it. But it was worth it. I’ll post more on that later.

So, we had dessert taken care of and all that was left was the celebrating. Which we did at Franklin’s 4th of July festival. I didn’t go to the Main Street Festival in April, which is kind of like Lakeland’s Mayfaire by the Lake, except it’s not on a lake. I’m not sure why we didn’t go. The 4th festival was *way* less crowded than I expected. Amanda said it was lame because of that but I found it delightful. We went to the pumpkin fest a couple of years ago and it was shoulder to shoulder people. It really wasn’t any fun at all- except that I saw Keith Urban and Nicole Kidman.

We took the kids to the kids area to let them do a couple of fun things but all I wanted to do was peek inside the windows of the houses well, former houses, they’re currently businesses. I always find that sad. Except that I couldn’t peek inside the windows if they were residences.

Yep, that’s my reflection. I was totally drawn in by the pine floors and fireplaces in every room. Sigh. In the nearly 11 years that we’ve lived here, we’ve never had a fireplace. It’s on my list of “desperately wants” for a future Button home.

The girls and I had a few minutes to kill while Travis went to fetch funds to finance the bouncy house and petting zoo. And it just so happens that Lillie Belle’s had a sign outside that said, “Free self-guided tours”. What? I could just walk around? I couldn’t help myself so I walked around the grounds. I didn’t check to see if the doors were unlocked because I had Daisy with me (she wasn’t having fun) but I did check out the garden.

I peeked inside the windows too and It was beautiful as expected. I never got the chance to visit when it was a tea room. I’m not terribly fond of tea sandwiches and such but I’d love to have seen the interiors first hand.

Then Trav and I split up, he took Chloe to a bouncy thing and I took Halle to the petting zoo.

We took a swing around the town square and listened to the band play. I told Travis that all we needed was a barber shop quartet singing, “Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer” and a gazebo in the town square and we’d be in Stars Hollow. So you know I was happy.

7 thoughts on “A Happy 4th

  1. Ha! Something I’ve done in Franklin that you haven’t: been inside Lillie Belle’s. 🙂 It is very pretty and the menu was fantastic and you wouldn’t have had any trouble finding something you liked. However, I hated all the ruffles. Far too many ruffles. Ruffles that wanted to wrap around my feet while I was sitting at the table and wouldn’t let me get up to visit the restroom without a fight. Not good.

    So…do you have any cupcakes left? I think I could handle that. I had peanut butter pie and strawberry pie. Both were pretty tasty, and I think you could do the peanut butter pie as long as you don’t eat the crust…is there a graham cracker crust replacement? If so, you’re all set.

    • Okay, color me jealous. When I peeked in the windows I thought it was really beautiful although not my style at all. I still appreciate it though.

      Yes, there are cupcakes left…but you have to come to Franklin to get one 🙂

  2. You’re making some great memories there, sugar. Sometimes I wish you and Jon were little again so we could make some really great memories. Love you.

Leave a Reply

