Birthday Weekend

I’ve thought for a few days about what I’d write concerning Chloe’s birthday. It was so amazing, so beautiful and we had such a great time that it’s actually difficult to convey in words. Wow, that’s a stuffy couple of sentences! There are some experiences though that are so wonderful to someone personally, that others just won’t “get”. It’s a birthday party, what’s the big deal? Maybe it wasn’t the party, maybe it was me. Maybe it’s because I’m so ridiculously happy in general. Perhaps it has something to do with us not having to buy Chloe clothes for her birthday, but could buy some things that she actually wanted. Not a lot, mind you, but things that would have been much too frivolous in years past.

It's a pillow, it's a pet...it's a Pillow Pet

I don’t know what it was specifically, I just know that I had a great time with my parents. We had a great time at Jump Zone (although Halle is sick now and it makes me wonder if they *ever* clean those inflatables). Amanda and Brian came over and we had the opportunity to tell *lots* of “when Amanda was little” stories. And we were loud. And somewhat obnoxious. We wore leis. There were balloons on the floor. And it was perfect.

My beautiful 9 year old...and my mom is saying how uncomfortable the lei is

The big girl and the boyfriend

The loot...including Mario Kart!!!

Welcome to the party!

5 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend

  1. I know what you mean. I won’t go so far as to say I “get it” in regard to this party, though it sounds very fun and lovely and happy, I just mean, I’ve felt that way too. Especially where it concerns events that my kids are part of or events that are focused on them. It’s hard to bring people in when they weren’t there to feel the joy of it all. You made me happy with you though. Chloe looks so content and she is really, well, she has always been so beautiful. Love the balloons on the floor in the bottom picture. It looks like a careless sort of abandonment of order in the committed pursuit of birthday fun.

  2. Absolutely perfect celebration of your dear Chloe. She is worthy of all the fun and honor and festivity; I love that 9 year old of yours.

  3. Oh, I love it! I love it all! It looks like such a fabulous, joyful time!
    I so wish we could have dropped by for a piece of cake. I know Emma would have loved to give out a birthday hug or two.
    But Mario Kart? Oh girl. It’s on. We need to hook up on and play each other. Er…I mean…the girls should play.

    • That would have been fun! When Emma called I nearly squealed into the phone. I think I was as happy to hear from her as Chloe was. Yeah, we totally need to play. I don’t know how to make that happen but I know Travis does. How cool would it be for Chloe and Emma to play?

Leave a comment